Towing 7000# TT with Ram 1500

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Dcm1379 said:
Well I am no professional but payload according to dodge on my truck 2017 quad cab 4x4 3.55 gears is 1580 lbs so if a trailer at approx 700-800# tongue weight is to close to the playload to make the truck unstable with wd hitch and sway control etc then ram should rethink the 1500 all together. We are talking a trailer that going down the road is probably 6500# and the truck should be able to handle that easily.

thats according to Dodge - what does the yellow decal say on the drivers side door jam? That will tell you specifics for your truck looks like this

Attachments

• IMG_20160306_092354.jpg
    IMG_20160306_092354.jpg
    225.5 KB · Views: 22
Do you have LT tires on it?  Are the tires inflated to near maximum sidewall pressure?  Do you understand how to adjust the sway bars?

Yes I have LT tires and yes they run close to sidewall rating. And yes I do know how to adjust the sway bars. It still moves around I wonder if it's just the travel trailer normal movement I hear is so common. Didn't have that issue with my old one it was very stable but the truck out weighed it.

Have you checkedto see if your tt axles are spaced the same? (Ie: have the same space between the tt wheels on both sides) and both at the same distance from the hitch?
If they're even side to side and on set is back a bit that could create a dog tracking event or if one axle is out then that would create an unstable tow.

Im just stabbing in the dark here as I havent towed our tt yet, but drive a truck for a living.  Lots if reading has shown me that the issues mentioned above have been others experiences towing their tt.

Also, Im interested in this topic as I have a 2017 ram 1500 with the 3.92 gear ratio payload is 1493lbs and just bought a trailer that will weigh approximately 7000# loaded...