Sway Bars and brake controllers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Irishwake

I am looking to purchase a small 17 foot (21 foot total) camper Coachmen Clipper and have a Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi to pull with. My question as I am a camper newbie is will I need a sway bar hitch and my other question is I will need a brake controller I was totally unaware that that size trailer even had brakes. I am used to towing a 3500 Lb (dry weight) boat with a 70 gal fuel tank with surge brakes and I am very unfamiliar with elec brakes.

I do not feel you will need a weight distribution hitch or sway control.  Just pack your camper correct, in your case, but your extras in the front of camper for tongue weight.  Yes you will need a brake controller. A simple one only.  You should be able to pick one up on Amazon or etrailer.com, along with a short wire harness that plugs into your fusebox.  Basically after you set up once, it's automatic from there.  Do some research, but if you pulled a boat (as I did) and I also have a 21' TT, it's no big deal with the brake controller, and they are less than $100.

Yes, you need an electric brake controller for the trailer brakes. Your Ram may be pre-wired for one.