??? about the fresh water, black water and gray water holding tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hflors

I am new to the rv lifestyle.  I admit after just one camping trip I am checking this website, looking at maps etc because I can't wait to get out on the road again (dh has to have surgery so we are "here" for a bit) anyway here is my question.  Is there any reason to travel with our holding tanks full if we don't use them on the road?  When we travel we only stop at rest stops and use those restrooms.  ON our camping trip we didn't use our facilities until we were hooked into the water and sewage supply at the campground.  I admit flushing out black and gray water tanks seems a bit daunting to me to begin with. 

The other question I have is since this is a "new" to us tt how do I know if these tanks were flushed out and cleaned out to begin with?  If you are hooked up to sewer does the black water and gray water pass thru these tanks on their way to the sewer?  Is there a procedure to "clean the tanks out before you unhook your sewer lines besides flushing the toilet several times?  (I sprayed Clorox clean up into the bowl and swished it around to disinfect it.  After we left I still don't know if this is what I was supposed to do.  Any and all info will be greatly appreciated