Question for mechanical engineers, (hydraulics), or plumbers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Prior member

We built our own house here in the NC mountains at elevation 3200 feet thirty years ago, and I have gravity water coming out of a bold spring above the house.
I have it piped a short distance from the spring head into a 250 gallon tank which is approximately 60 feet higher in elevation than our house, and then a pipe coming from the bottom of the tank down to the house.
I am thinking of putting a whole house filter right where the pipe enters the house.
My question is will a whole house filter cause any change in the pressure if I keep it perfectly clean?

I don't need any comments about freezing, etc. I am just concerned that it might lower the pressure.

Jack L

I'm not a mechanical engineer or plumber but I can tell you that all filters cause some degree of reduced flow rate. When all taps are closed pressure will equalize, but when a tap is open yes, there will be a slight loss of pressure downstream of the filter. If my math is correct with a 60 foot drop you'll have a little less than 30PSI so not a lot. One way to lessen the impact is to plumb two filters in parallel. In this way you double the  filter media surface the water can flow through, thereby lessening pressure drop.

There won't be any pressure loss if the filter is adequately sized for the flow you expect.  If you use a very fine filter (small micron value), it will need to be physically larger (cross-sectional area) so that the total flow is sufficient for your needs. "Needs" is subjective too - some people are satisfied with a flow rate of 2-3 gpm, while others feel showers are inadequate at that level or that faucets take too long to fill things.