The Full Time RV Philosophy -- Is it worth it?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I'm not sure we have much to add to the many good responses already here but ... well I've never been accused of being short on opinions. We are not fulltimers but spend 2 - 3 moths a year in our coach. DW can work on the road.  I'm a carpenter and I often line up work too.

We are very independent and mindful people. We are private people but we love making new friends.  As someone else said, you don't often make friends in a hotel.

We started out in the RV world because of our dogs and grandchildren.  We do not kennel our dogs (I've  become that over-the-top, gooey, dog lover I used to hold such disdain for)  and they do shed so hotels don't much like us. I really dislike sleeping on someone else's bed and making half a dozen trips from the car to the upstairs motel room every night.

We want to stay close to our family when we visit but we want to go home each night. When we started RVing, the kids lived on opposite coasts ... with us in Montana.

In our motorhome I can pack anything I want and I won't have some inconsiderate 'new hire' telling me something is not allowed or to take my threatening boots off.

I LOVE road trips and driving, especially with my best friend that I convinced to marry me! .. the views, new places, new people ... independence. We stop when we want, where we want and wallow in the freedom and relaxed togetherness.

I don't think we would ever FT but only because we love our home (and my woodshop), neighbors and community so much. Having said that, we are basically homebodies who love to travel. So we have two homes, one for 75% of the time and one for travelling. It's not inexpensive but then neither is a vacation home and we get to have a vacation home anywhere on the continent.