Newbie WD Hitch Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wolfeda16

Hi all - finally decided to upgrade from our old popup to a new-to-me 2006 Shamrock 21SS Hybrid.  I'll be towing with a 2006 Expedition.  Dry weight on the new trailer (per mfg specs) is around 3,500, and GVWR around 5,000.  Tongue Weight is listed as 350 (I'm assuming this is dry?)

I've never used a WD hitch before as I didn't have much of a need on the popup. We don't pick up the trailer for a few weeks, so I told the dealer I needed to do a little more research on WD hitches before committing to buying what he was offering.  He suggested an Equalizer hitch which he would sell for $800 including installation.  He didn't specify which size equalizer, but from what I've read it sounds like I'll be best off with the 10k lb setup, as I could be right on the edge it with the 6k setup (5,000 GVWR x 10-15% = 500-750 tongue weight).  Looks like etrailer has them for about $500, but then I'd need to figure out installation myself (in the parking lot of the dealer before I bring it home?)

Another option is my father-in-law has a 12k lb equalizer that he no longer uses and would give me for free.  It seems like this will be overkill for my situation, but saving $500-800 would be nice.  Would this make my ride terrible or unsafe? 

So here are my options, what do you suggest?
1. Buy $800 hitch from dealer including installation
2. Buy $500 hitch online and install myself in the parking lot of the dealer
3. Buy $500 hitch online and drive home (5 miles, no highway) without WD, then figure out installation at home in lower pressure environment
4. Hook up free 12k lb hitch and give it a try before spending unneccessary money