Weight limits for towing camper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nobody

I am new to ALL of this.

Actually I'm about to buy a lightweight camper to pull behind my Honda Pilot with a towing weight capacity of 4,000#.

I am looking at campers in the high 2,000# - mid 3,000# range. What is the optimal dry weight? For instance, I've seen a camper with Dry Weight of around 3,600#. Can I tow something with this weight? How does weight affect my MPG?

Thanks for all suggestions.

I apologise ahead of time for sounding so bad, but if gas mileage is a major concern, RV'ing isn't for you.
Now to on with the weight issue. Not only does a tow vehicle have to tow the trailer, it must also carry the tongue weight of the trailer. Tongue weight must be at least 10% of the loaded trailers weight, and 12% is better, or the trailer will sway all over the place. Do not use the trailers dry weight. No one goes camping with an empty camper, use the GVWR instead. Also, don't let a salesman like to you. They will tell you that you can pull anything on the lot, just so they can make a sale.

Covered pretty well by kdbgoat.

Dry weight is not a meaningless figure, but it's pretty close to meaningless. The GVWR (Gross Vehicle Weight Ratio) of the trailer is the maximum that it's rated to weigh when fully loaded... i.e. what the trailer's frame, axles, and tires can handle. A safety margin of 10% is often discussed around here (although not mandatory), so that would put you around 3600# for your Pilot's 4000# maximum tow rating. However, it's important to know that everything in the SUV (except a 160# driver and full tank of fuel, I believe) counts as cargo too... passengers, chairs, coolers, food, the dog, and whatever else you take camping that doesn't fit in the trailer!