Towing with a Chevy Tahoe

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yosh53

I would like to here from other Chevy Tahoe owners about their experience towing a travel trailer. Recommendations appreciated!
I am looking at a Jayco trailer weighing 6140 lbs. I have a 2015 Tahoe LS. 5.3 Liter V8 , 355.0HP @ 5600, gas engine. GVWR 7100. Curb Weight @ 5500.
Towing specs:
Dead Weight Hitch - Max Trailer Wt.  5000  lbs  5000.0 min 5000.0 max
Dead Weight Hitch - Max Tongue Wt.  500  lbs  500.0 min 500.0 max
Wt Distributing Hitch - Max Trailer Wt. 8600, 6600  lbs  6600.0 min 8600.0 max
Wt Distributing Hitch - Max Tongue Wt.  860, 660  lbs  660.0 min 860.0 max

I'm not an expert and don't have a trailer but from reading what the experts have say is the the percentage for the tounge weight may be too much for the tahoe. Your max tongue weight is 500lbs..

Max tongue wt WITHOUT a WD hitch is 500#.  Max trailer wt is 8600#, and with a WD hitch, it can carry the 10% of 8600# weight.

HOWEVER, that 8600# refers to the total weight of the TT, including contents, NOT dry wt that the salesman will push.  It also includes ONLY 2 passengers at 150# each and NO CARGO IN THE TAHOE.  Read the small print they do not want you to notice.

In the real world, reduce the 8600# Max Trailer Wt by 10% for safety and options on the Tahoe, leaving 7740#.  The gross weight of the fully loaded TT PLUS the weight of all passengers and cargo in the Tahoe should not exceed about 8000# (Remember the 300# allowance for passengers?)

Do some quick math and subtract the weight of the family from 8,000#.  Deduct a couple hundred pounds for the WD hitch and other misc cargo.  That is the max gross weight TT you can tow.