Generator Issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jamie1968

Hi there. I am new to owning an RV and I'm hoping some of you wise folks can answer a question or questions I've got about an RV that I inherited from my father.
It's a 1994 Winnebago Vectra with the turbo diesel pusher set up. Other than being old, it's in pretty good shape. But, I'm running into some "newbie" issues I think.
The current problem I'm having is with the 5500 watt Onan onboard generator. The generator itself, starts and runs just fine. But, I'm not getting power from it, for anything but the 12 VDC stuff,
and charging the coach batteries. There is a switch up above the level station in the kitchen, next to the breaker panel, that has two modes. One position is for 30 amp shore power, and the other is for
50 amp or generator power. When I try to use the generator, I place the switch in the latter position, but I get no AC power from it.
I've looked through all the manuals that my Dad passed along with the rig, which he was pretty meticulous about keeping them up along with documentation about work done. But, I'm not finding any schematics that address this part of the system.
If Dad was still with us, I'm sure that he would know exactly what I'm doing wrong. But, unfortunately, that was just something that didn't come up whenever we were out camping.
Am I just not switching something over, that everybody just "knows" to do? Or do I have a problem with the generator head?

Thanks in advance. And please ask any questions, that may help with your answers.
And I look forward to spending time on this forum. It looks like there's a lot of good people here.

Two thoughts.  One based on the AGE of the RV and a 3rd you won't like.