Installed Tow Hitch & Gear to tow our 2008 Honda CRV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mark-M

Friends,

Thought I'd post a summary of the install of all the gear, wiring etc. to setup to to our 2008 Honda CRV as a toad.  I've asked a number of questions on this forum and thought I'd provide an update on what I installed and how it all went.

First I have to thank my great next door neighbor who helped me with the install.  I could not have done this without his expertise.  He is a car guy (I'm an accountant) and he restores old trucks and has a pristine '69 Malibu, a 3 car garage with a lift and every tool you can imagine.  I can't thank him enough.

Here's a list of what we installed.
-- Roadmaster Baseplate http://www.hitchsource.com/roadmaster-ez5-tow-bar-brackets-07-11-honda-crv-p-37478.html - $415.00
-- Ready Brute Tow bar - http://www.hitchsource.com/nsa-ready-brake-ready-brute-elite-tow-bar-p-32823.html -- $1,100.00 (Incl Clevises)
-- Tow Bar Cover - http://www.hitchsource.com/nsa-ready-brute-tow-bar-cover-p-32959.html - $65.00
-- Break Away Kit - http://www.hitchsource.com/nsa-ready-brute-tow-bar-vehicle-break-away-kit-p-32973.html#tab_reviews - $97.00
-- Roadmaster Tail Light Wiring Kit - http://www.hitchsource.com/roadmaster-diode-wire-to-wire-flexo-coil-wiring-kit-p-36643.html - $125.95

Baseplate install was a breeze. Instructions that came with it were great.  Only minor adjustment we needed to make was to file one of the bolt holes on the baseplate little, was just off the hole on the frame a tad.  Other than that, it fit perfectly.