Adding Navy Berthing Racks as Bunks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jacoblag

Hi everyone, I am brand new to RVing and am contemplating getting a fifth wheel / toy hauler to live in with my family of 7 for a few months.  With a family of this size, I'm concerned about sleeping space. I would rather avoid having any kids sharing beds (this revelation came last night while putting two of my daughters down who share a bunk bed; the youngest couldn't sleep because her sister was "breathing too loud", which caused her to scream and thus drown out any actual sound her sister was making...).

In trying to think of creative ways of solving this problem, I fell back on my experience in the Navy and wondered whether it was feasible to install berthing from a Navy ship. Obviously weight is a large concern. How much do Bunks usually weigh? What would be the upper limit on weight that you would consider?

If you're fortunate enough to be unfamiliar with Navy Berthing, you can see what I'm talking about here: http://ussnewjersey.com/images/rect62-22.jpg

Thanks!

As a point of reference, the "shipping weight" of a triple bunk is 455 lbs.

The kids will get used to sharing beds. We traveled all over the country with eight people in a pop-up.

Everyone slept just fine.

Are you planning on traveling?  Or staying in one place?  All seven of you riding in one vehicle?  I'm just wondering if two RVs makes sense.  Besides sleeping space,is one bathroom enough?  Grew up in a family of seven,we really would have been happier with a second toilet,at least.  And that was in a sticks and bricks.

Any thoughts on privacy needs?  Rainy days?  Not saying it can't work for you,just some things to consider.

HappyWanderer said:
The kids will get used to sharing beds. We traveled all over the country with eight people in a pop-up.

Everyone slept just fine.