Choice between 2004 Ford Excursion or 2005 Ford F-250 - both diesel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tgianco

Wife will drive when we're not towing. She only commutes 1 mile to work.

From what I can find, Excursion, leather, power everything, more amenities, with 200k miles at $12k, will pull 11,000 lbs, while the F-250 (150k miles @ $13,500) will pull 12,500, both more than what we're looking for in a travel trailer.

We have two kids (16 & 13) and live in/ near the country. Any thoughts on best for towing (like control, etc) and for future?
Excursion from used car lot, while F-250 from private party. Anything I/ we should consider?

Yes, we're total newbies, so excuse our naivete.

Get the biggest one you can afford. You might not need the pulling power now but the odds are in favor of you wanting to trade up your trailer in a few years and then the limiting factor of how large you can go will be higher.

F-250 and add a camper shell if it doesn?t already have one

Unless the f250 is an oddball with less payload then the Excursion, go for the truck.
You should check the actual payload on both.  Not the internet generic payload.

Everyone thinks they will never need more truck only to discover they're wrong.

Be very careful before purchasing any Ford diesel with the 6.0 liter engine.  We had a 2005 Ford F250 diesel.  Purchased new in September 2005.  We kept it for 10 years selling it in 2015 with 130,000 miles on the clock.  It looked like new.  Had it for sale for months.  Finally sold it for $11,000 which is $1,000 more than we could have got from Carmax.  In addition to all the known issues, turbos, injectors, control modules, egr, etc., etc., etc., the transmission was replaced after only 30,000 miles. 

Just google Ford 6.0 Diesel problems and you'll get lots of hits.  Also check the Ford Truck forums. 

garyb1st said: