Fridge and hot water heater issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AmyW

Hi all! I'm new to RV-ing. I just purchased a 1998 Coachmen Prospera 32 ft. to live in permanently. It's in great shape and I had it transported and set up in an RV park for now. Everything is going well, I'm only in one week but I'm loving it!!

2 problems have come up and I'm hoping there are simple solutions:

1) The fridge is leaking a very oily substance. It doesn't smell, it's completely clear and not very runny... it's sort of pooling on the bottom hinge and leaking straight down the front onto the floor. Fridge and freezer seem to be working fine, but I've no clue what this could be.

2) My hot water heater hasn't come on. I was told to turn on the water and run it in all spigots then turn on the HWH fuse and then the HW switch and I should be good to go. Perhaps there's a pilot light someplace?

Admittedly I haven't done any other research (although it was research that led me here) so I'm asking you all first.

PS I'm in Florida so no hot water hasn't really hindered me, showers aren't really all that cold! But hot water will be nice, obviously!

Thanks much and I look forward to building relationships with more like minded RVing folks!!

Amy

Welcome!!!

The makes and models of the HWH  and Fridge would be good to know. Might save telling you of things that are not correct for you models.

Can't help you on the refrigerator, that an odd problem. On the inside of the refrigerator either on the door or inside wall there will be a label that has all the information about the refrigerator make and model. We need that information.

For the water heater....you need to make sure you have propane in your propane tank and the gas valve near the tank is turned on allowing propane to flow to the water heater.