Towing Capacity

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cujman

I currently drive a 2011 Toyota Tundra and I am looking for something that won't work as hard in the Virginia Mountains.  I have been looking at the 2018 Ram vs the 2018Tundra. The Ram has a substantially higher tow capacity and payload.  Both the Ram and the Tundra have 381 hp and 401 lb.ft of torque, at basically the same rpm's.  An automotive engineer has told me that the higher tow capacity and payload of the Ram is only because it has a stronger frame.  My thinking then is that I won't feel any difference in towing between the Ram and the Tundra.  Am I missing something here?

I'm no expert, but in my estimation the stiffer/beefier frame would tend to twist less giving a better driving experience.

I suspect that engineer was right, but if your concern is "won't work as hard", it may or may not mean anything.  Towing needs horsepower and gearing to deliver that Hp without revving the engine high to achieve it.  If you could provide facts and figures on the two trucks and the trailer it will have to tow, maybe we could provide some more useful advice.

Tundras come with two different engines and a variety of other options; Rams have even more. Simply saying Tundra or Ram 1500 doesn't mean a whole lot.

Compare the transmissions.  The 8 speed in the Ram is used by a number of manufacturers.

ALL THINGS BEING EQUAL, the engineer is probably right, but all things are never equal.  Gary mentioned a few of the unequal items.  You indicated essentially identical motors.  How do transmissions and rear ends compare?  The Ram's heavier frame will improve the overall towing experience.