Newbie here..1500 Suburban as a TV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mobjack22

I tried a search but no real luck. Looking for input on any mods made to tv etc or if any needed. I will be towing my TT just under my gvwr capacity.  I routinely tow a 5000lb boat, my my TT gvwr is pushing 7000. I have WDH for TT and of course electronic brakes. Plan to add friction sway bar.

Any help is great.y appreciated.

It all depends on the numbers. You need to review the Burb's Max tow Rating, Cargo Capacity, and hitch rating.  Cargo Capacity needs to cover passengers and gear in the Burb as well as the trailer tongue weight, which is going to be 700-850 lbs all by itself (10-12% of loaded trailer weight).

You didn't mention the year of the Suburban or the configuration. Recent years typically have max tow ratings of either 6300 or 8300 lbs, but tat gets decreased as trim options are installed. Check your tow ratings in the Chevrolet or Trailer Life towing Guides.
I would suggest a Weight-Distributing hitch with built-in anti-sway rather than a friction sway bar. Something like Fastway E2.

Burb is a 2007 with a tongue weight rating with wdh of 1000#, trailer weight 7000. So with a light load I am maxed on my arctic fox.

If you are hoping for some magical way to increase your 1/2 ton Suburban's towing capacity... there isn't one. When you compare to 3/4 ton truck or SUV options, they have a bigger and heavier duty engine, transmission, suspension, brakes, and tires. Don't forget about the weight of passengers and other gear in the Suburban, as those items are being "towed" and take away from the cargo capacity also.