newby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

witster123

HI ALL.
I AM NEW TO THIS SO AM NOT SURE HOW TO POST A QUESTION. IF THIS IS THE PLACE COULD SOMEONE PLEASE HELP. I AM LIVING IN A FIFTH WHEEL FOR A WHILE AS I AM FROM THE UK. MY FRIEND OWNS THE 5TH WHEEL BUT IS TOO ARROGANT TO ASK THE QUESTION. HE HAS NO BATTERY AND IS PLUGGED INTO A STANDARD PLUG TO HIS SHOP SUPPLY. EACH TIME HE NOW CONNECTS THE POWER EVERYTHING TRIPS. HE HAS FOUND THAT WHERE ALL THE FUSES ARE ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE BREAKER PANEL THE BATHROOM ONE HAS BURN MARKS ON SO HAS BLOWN. HE HAS REPLACED THIS AND IT STILL TRIPS. AS A RESULT I AM LIVING IN THERE WITH NO POWER AT ALL. DOES HE NEED TO REPLACE THE FUSE BOARD OR DOES HE HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE POWER SUPPLY UNIT INCLUDING THE CONVERTER. ALSO HOW IMPORTANT IS THE BATTERY AS HE WAS TOLD HE NEEDS ONE OF THOSE FOR THE FRIDGE ETC.
SORRY IF THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO ASK THE QUESTION BUT AS I SAID AM NEW TO THIS SO JUST NEED A START POINT.

THANKS IN ANTICIPATION

He doesn't need a battery if it is plugged in, but without mains power a battery would be the only source of 12 volt power to keep things running. Including the fridge. Get a 12v battery if you can't solve the other power problem quickly. Plug in an automtive battery charger to keep the battery going.

Very doubtful a new "fuse panel" is needed, but some diligent troubleshooting is needed, using a voltmeter and ohmmeter (usually packed as one in a "muti-meter".

Are fuses blowing or breakers tripping?  The 12v circuits will have fuses and the 120v "mains" will have breaker.  Which of those has burn signs?