Truck Camper for a full hookup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sam Bar

All,  I have no knowledge of truck campers, but we have 2 full hookup slabs at our cottage in the mtns of NC.  We are looking for  a place for my kid to crash in the summer. We had a TT on it, but sold it.  My question is, can we just put a truck camper on blocks to do the job? My dear wife says yes. They seem to be much cheaper than anything else we see on CL or other places for sale.  We don't need for him to shower or use the potty, just a place to stay for 2 weeks a year with ac.  Will this work?  Can it be delivered to our house and set up, or am I re-inventing the wheel? Just need a third bedroom for him, at the cottage. 

Thanks, John

Personally I?d use a small trailer. Should be cheap if you?re really only looking for beds

To answer your original question, most truck campers do just fine sitting on their four jacks.  The jacks should be used to lower it as close to the ground as you can go, it will be much more stable that way.  The only way you MIGHT have a problem is if it's old and the lower part has suffered from water damage, in which case the floor will need extra support under it.  Some people will rig a sawhorse or something similar to support the bed part that would ordinarily overhang the cab, but in theory that is not necessary - there's enough weight concentrated between the four jacks to more than offset the weight of your son when he climbs up into the bed, still, if it makes you feel better . . .