my get home bag

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jr brown

I have been a firefighter for over 40 years and never once had I ever thought about my own personal well being.  My little retired navy seal buddy told me I should make myself a get home bag just in case. So with his help we have a get home bag with us anytime we leave the house. He has taught me many life skills that I would have never thought of.  My friend has been to 3 schools on survival so he know how when and why about life saving survival skills and I have been blessed to have him pass these skills on to me. I would recommend everyone that travels to have a get home back with them and the skill to survive. Its been fun this last winter going out with my friend and learning how to start fires without a lighter or matches and how to spend the nights in the elements and to be comfortable. The bags is easy to make without a lot of cost . You tube have a lot of good videos . Be safe my friends and learn to take care of yourself and family.  Chief

Good post Chief! Most folks think their RV....is their “ get home bag”! When/if “IT” happens...the “last” place I want be be is “trapped” on a highway with hundreds to thousands of panicked, desperate people. If the situation appears to “very” long term, a backpack, with survival essentials.... and we’re on our way home. At home, we are better prepared for “IT”! Whatever,”IT” is! We will either die on the trip home, or arrive in “much” better shape! For us....it’s better than sitting in an RV, waiting on the end!