1995 Ford E350 - Exhaust Leak - Repair or Not to Repair

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DanteMc

I have a 1995 Travelmaster Montego 28? Class C built on a Ford E350 with the 7.5l engine.  It has 83,000 miles and has had an exhaust leak for at least the past 3000 or more. Eexhaust leak sounds like it is coming from the manifold. I just replaced the catalytic converter last week. It needed to be replaced.  After dying on a road trip and towing home (thank heavens for AAA RV Premire) I drove it the next day with the dog house off and the right manifold was glowing cherry red after a few miles under load (up some hills).

This is going to be labor intensive and not cheap. Other than putting off additional noise when driving is there a compelling reason for me to go through the time and expense?

Thanks!

One reason is the safety of you and your passengers. It's a possible source to get carbon monoxide intrusion into the RV. A second is depending on the outside sound level, it will annoy folks in the campgrounds. Unfortunately, it will also give you a bad first impression to some folks at campgrounds.

If the leak is between the manifold and the head (i.e., bad gasket) over time the leak can erode the head to the point that a gasket will no longer seal it, making it a much more expensive repair. So I?d say for this, and the reasons stated by others, unless you?re planning on getting rid of the rig soon (and even then buyers aren?t going to be happy with it) I would fix it sooner than later. Sorry, it is a big job.

Does your state have a vehicle inspection program? In NH we do and your vehicle would not pass inspection.  There is a reason for extending the exhaust system out the back.  SAFETY.

From experience I know Sun2Retire is correct.

I bought a Class C in the early 80?s with a 360 Dodge with eroded heads. Major project getting them milled.

Tom