Tire Covers from WallyWorld :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

_Rusty_

Newbie here... So after reading the many posts on Tire Failure and Tire Safety, I decided I better get them things covered. Trying to be frugal I searched about and decided to try WallyWorld for inexpensive covers ($40 bucks USD) that I thought I could get satisfaction from..Wrong  :mad:

They list all this stuff on their web site like it is their product, but when you read the fine print you come to find it is a sub-vendor who pays Wally to run their products. Knowing the return policy I decided to try them anyway and ordered the covers.  They came from "AutoBodyNow" and were advertised as "High Quality" (in Chinese means "whatever we can send you").  The first one opened  was looped over my steering tire and in an effort to anchor it down against the wind I looped a piece of plastic rope thru the grommet and pulled...(see picture attached). With little effort at all the grommet pulled right out of the canvas material.

So I wrote to Wally and complained and received a nice letter stating that if I returned them new and in original package they would consider a refund, but I would have to pay the $18 shipping cost (original cost was $40).  Being the one unit now has axle grease on it AND the grommet is ripped right out of the material I doubt I would get any refund. :eek: I decided instead to buy a grommet tool and used scrap material and hot-melt glue to reinforce the corners and set new grommets ($22  total).

Good Ole' Walmart has a comment section on purchases, but they only allow 128 characters to make your comment. I found it difficult to vent my frustration there so I brought it here.. sorry!  :'(

Attachments

• AutoBodyNow.jpg
    AutoBodyNow.jpg
    85 KB · Views: 61
  • Repaired Cover.jpg
    Repaired Cover.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 54
  • FinishedCover.jpg