Towing Question - 2016 Ram 1500

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BradleyS

My wife and I recently sold our old pop up and our looking to buy our first travel trailer. I have some towing experience but, not a ton so, I figured I'd ask the experts  :).

I have a 2016 Ram 1500 Laramie with 8 speed transmission, 3.21 axle ratio, 5.7L Hemi, Crew cab, 4x4. Online I see that my truck has a GVWR of  6,900, GCWR 13,800, Max trailer weight rating 8,010 and payload of 1,520 pounds.

We're between two trailers, the Open Range 2802BH and the North Trail 24BHS. The 2802BH has a dry weight of 5,765, hitch weight of 580, GVWR of 7,450, and the total length is 31'9". I would also get the Equalizer WDH system, electronic brake control, and look into adding rear air bags that it seems many Ram owners use.

Do you think my truck is capable of pulling the 2802BH safely, without adding unnecessary stress, or should I stick to the shorter/lighter 24BHS? The 24BHS is 5,350 dry, 550 lbs hitch weight, and 27'11".

Thank you for any input!

Figure on adding about 1000 lbs by the time you load it with cook ware, food, linens, folding chairs, etc, etc, etc.  Or just use the the TT gross weight rating< not the dry weight.

What you find online is not that important? The question is what does the sticker on the door jam reads.
I had a 1500 truck with HD package pulling a 24 foot.  That was plenty. I wouldn?t suggest any more than 24 foot.

BradleyS said:
Do you think my truck is capable of pulling the 2802BH safely, without adding unnecessary stress, or should I stick to the shorter/lighter 24BHS?

You might pull the 28BH on flat land without a wind, but add even a small hill or slight wind, and you will be buying a bigger truck, I guarantee it.  You load that 24BH with water, wood, and soft drinks, and you will struggle with big hills.