House batteries - how many is too many?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jhoog

I am new to the Class A scene, my last class C had one 12V battery to power the house side and one for the chassis and starting power.  my Class A has one for chassis and then it has 6 12V house batteries. I have never seen 6 12V batteries needed for the house side? is that normal or little overkill?

Suggests to me that this rig was optimized for boondocking, as opposed to a rig that spends most of it's time plugged into shore power.  Did it, by any chance, also come with solar panels?

I don't think it's possible to have too many batteries!  ;) Only partly kidding. If your battery bank was large enough relative to your charging source(s) (converter and/or solar or even wind) that the batteries didn't routinely reach the "float" stage, that wouldn't be good for battery life

it did come with 2 pretty decent sized panels.  All 6 batteries are 7 years old and no good anymore.  I was going to replace them all this weekend and was originally going to just replace them with all new 12V but it seems a little overkill, I typically only dry camp but for maybe 2 days at a time.

jhoog said:
I typically only dry camp but for maybe 2 days at a time.

I'd get a pair of 6V golf cart batteries.

Alternatively, but won't last as long, a pair of "deep cycle" (they're not really) 12V batteries at Walmart/Costco/Sams

thanks for the advice, I may tape off the other 4 connections and drop to 2 6v golf cart batteries and give it a shot.  I can always add more in sequence if needed.

Great Horned Owl said:
Too many batteries is when their weight causes you to exceed your GVWR.

Joel

Well, if money is no object, I guess.  But after a certain number, you do hit a point of diminishing returns . . .