New to the forum and planning on operating a business while living in an RV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Joanne Rigutto

Hi everyone. I'm soon to be new to the RV world. I recently sold my property and I'm planning on getting a travel trailer and pickup to tow it. I'm a graphic artist and work in both digital and some traditional media. When I get my trailer I intend to set it up as a live in studio. Do any of the RV parks have restrictions on operating a business out of your RV? My digital work is all send/receive online and the traditional media I work in is watercolor, gouache, graphite and small enough to mail flat or can be rolled in a shipping tube, so I'm not using hazardous materials like I would if I were molding and casting pieces.

Many RV parks frown upon running a business out of your RV. But, if it's low key, they're unlikely to bother you.

If you're not putting a sign out or having customers come to your site, you should be fine. Working online from your RV is not that unusual among both full timers and part timers. If you're doing some work outside on nice days, most folks would probably just think it's a hobby.

You may even find some parks have a vendor day where residents and others sell there work. I do not know if you can or Do anything like that but it is a thought.
AS far as parks. If it contained inside your RV then no problem.

Make sure the pick up has enough payload to tow the trailer. The towing capacity is almost meaningless.

You are looking at payload 10--15% of the gross weight of the trailer will be on the pickup and that must be subtracted from payload. For example a 6000 curb weight trailer will probably weigh 7500 lbs when loaded. that puts about 1000 lbs payload on the truck. Now total what you are going to put into the truck.  You will probably be over 1500 pounds of payload easy.