Membership clubs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tgianco

Newbie here, so excuse my ignorance. Because I am buying my new 5th wheel from Camping World, i receive Good Sam membership (not sure if it's 1 year or 3 years), but I have a bigger question in terms of which memberships are worth it.

For instance, Passport America sounds awesome, but then I see that many of the campgrounds where I'd want to use it only offer PA part of the year or don't offer on weekends. My wife and I are at least 10 years away from retirement and have little ones, so we're still weekend warriors, mostly.

Also, most of our travel will be out west... mainly CA, but we'll venture to OR, WA, NV & AZ most, although ID, WY, MT, UT & CO sound inviting. Are there particular membership groups that might be a better fit for younger(-ish) families who travel mostly on weekends or for long weekends?

Thanks in advance if there are any that might be more of a fit for a family likes ours'.