Wi-Fi, antennas and rest areas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ankrum

Hello all,

Great forum!

I'm new to RVing. We pick up a new Itasca Navion in a couple of weeks.

I've been researching Wi-Fi and have not found any clear answers:

Has anyone attached a directional antenna to an external TV antenna and been able to rotate it to find a signal? What's the best model? How about another method to put a rotatable, directional Wi-Fi antenna on the roof?

Has anyone tried accessing the free W-Fi at rest stations from inside their RV? How about outside libraries and other free access points?

Thank you,

Denny

Denny

We use no supplemental antennae for wi-fi, relying solely on our built in chip. A number of members of this Forum use the Hawking external directional antenna and find it very good. We have used our wi-fi chip in campgrounds, libraries, rest areas, in front of libraries when they are closed and in front of coaches with satellite internet and open wi-fi. Our only issue is at times we are parked in a part of a campground where the signal can get weak at times. But it usually comes back.

I don't have direct experience with Wi-Fi antennas, but I think it is a mature business.  The hacker community and war drivers are experienced in this.  The good news is that at 2.4GHz, the wave length is short and the antenna would always be small.  If you could get it on the rotating TV antenna that would be great - outside and also able to be aimed from inside.

I have felt that it could make a big difference in marginal situations and I'm very interested to hear more replies.

I guess searching around for devices the way a hacker would is the way to find more options.

Google is your friend.  Search on WiFi Directional antennas and you'll find more than you ever even wanted to know.