Newbie... Good idea?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tenortodd

Hi all. A newbie here. I'm just looking for advice from more experienced rvers.

My wife and i have 2 small daughters. We all love hiking and the outdoors.
I'm a public school teacher and my wife stays home. Our budget is tight.

A month ago we visited my brother in Tennessee and his family has a nice new pop up.
He pulled it out and showed us all the features. We loved it.

However, after a LOT of online research and discussion, we think we would rather buy
A small hard trailer for the reasons: hard shower/bathroom, full kitchen, bunk beds, ac and heat, protection from animals, and more durable.

We wanted the pop up initially because we're in a neighborhood that doesn't allow rvs. We could put a pop up in our garage. But we found 2 outdoor storage places that only charge $25 per month.

Thoughts? Advice?

We're getting an suv that can tow 5000, so we should be ok. We've found 3 so far that are small and would fit us and are under 4000.

Since I'm a teacher, we're excited to spend 2 months away in the summers, plus go somewhere warm for winter and spring breaks.

Where did the "5000" come from??? IF it is the number stamped on the hitch receiver, that means the receiver itself can be used up to 5000lbs when installed properly. It does NOT mean your proposed SUV can handle it. The number you need is the GCVWR for your SUV. Don't forget to add all the weights like the LOADED trailer, the passengers, the dog, the gear you are to carry in the SUV etc.

The number you need for the trailer is the GVWR of that trailer. This will provide you with an acceptable safety margin for the loaded trailer weight (provided you adhere to it). 10-12% of the actual trailer weight must be carried by the SUV.