Why do i use propane even when plugged in?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Annapurna845

Hi. I am kind of new to RV-ing. Right now i am plugged into A/C current. I am running the fridge and often, the air conditioner. Why does the propane still get used? Does the fridge use propane to cool even if you are plugged into AC? Also being i am plugged in should i turn off the switch that is on to run the fridge while i am on the road?
Thanks.
Dana

The make and model of the fridge would help.  Usually you set the control to AUTO and it will run on electric when available and switch to propane for driving and parked with no electric.  Keep in mind that you need a charged battery at all times that the fridge is in use.

If you are plugged into shore power and not paying for it by the kilowatt then it should be set to AC. If you are running the generator or paying for electricity you are usually better off running on propane.

I just had my propane tank filled. The jerk who filled it (long story), turned the propane valve off. The way i figured it out was the fridge kept having the "check" light lit. Checked the stove and no propane feed so checked the valve on the tank and it was off. So apparently the fridge needs propane. BTW its a Dometic. I have a 2016 Coachman Freelander 21QB. So I guess the fridge needs propane even if running on current.
Dana

I looked up specs for your RV and it says electric / propane. So I would take it to mean it can run on either one. Look on the front for a switch that says Auto/Electric/Gas.

https://www.rvusa.com/rv-guide/2016-coachmen-freelander-class-c-floorplan-21qb-tr24637

Annapurna845 said:
So I guess the fridge needs propane even if running on current.