02 Dodge Dakota & Coachmen Apex Nano 213RDS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Camper402

Hey guys and gals I hope I am not opening a topic that has been asked before but I just needed some advice. I am new to camping and I am looking at buying a Apex Nano 213 RDS with a dry weight of just over 3700 pounds. My tow vehicle is a 2002 Dodge Dakota 4.7 2 wheel drive. I know that I will need a trailer brake assist as well as a weight distribution bar but should my truck be sufficient to pull that trailer? It is rated for 6000 plus pounds but I would just like some advice to be sure before I pull the trigger on a new trailer. Thanks again for the help.

Is your towing capcity from the truck data plate? Don't rely on a sales brochure, those numbers are for a bare bones vehicle with minimum fuel and a 150 lb driver. That trailer grosses at 6,000 lb, forget trying to tow it with your truck.

Welcome to the Forum!

Thank you for asking before purchase!!

Since 2009, all vehicles have a placard stating their actual payload as it left the factory.  That makes answering questions easier.  You do not have that placard.  To accurately determine your payload, fill the fuel tank and get the truck weighed.  There WILL be a tire placard with the truck GVWR (Gross Vehicle Weight Rating).  Subtract actual weight from GVWR to get remaining Payload.  Technically, the Payload does not include any passengers or cargo.  In this case simply know anything in the truck when it was weighed is already included in the weights.

The remaining Payload must be sufficient to hold all additional passengers and cargo carried in the truck as well as 80# for the WD hitch and the tongue wt of the camper.

According to the Coachman web site, that camper is 3806# dry and 6000# GVWR.  A 6000# camper will have a tongue wt of 600 - 700#.