Towing question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

[email protected]

HI,I AM NEW TO RVING.WE HAVE A NEW 32FT C CLASS FORESTER.WE WANT TO TOW A FORD ESCAPE FRONT WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE 2008.WHICH TOWING IS BETTER FOR ME. FLAT TOWING OR GET A DOLLY

First off it is a very bad idea to use your email address as a screen name. It will be harvested by spam mongers. Second turn off the caps lock and I might read your question. Caps lock is shouting and hard to read.

Ok cars fall into 3 categories for towing.
one: Can be towed 4 down with only a base plate Tow lights and aux brake install
one.five: as above but special procedure must be followed.

Two: Can be towed 4 down WITH MODIFICATION beyond the above. For Front wheel drive that is either an axel lock or a lube pump.  I prefer the axel lock as it is a half-shaft (the drive shaft on one side) with a special clutch in it. like the old Locking hubs on JEEPS (Same techonology) it is 100% reliable provided you remember to UNLOCK it when you tow. Has a few other advantages too With this in the UNLOCKED position the wheel it is attached to spins freely like a rear tire.. The other one spins the differerntial but that' sonly a tiny bit of drag and runs in oil so no lube issues.

The LUBE pump pumps transmission fluid around using Motor home electricity to do the job.. Keeps the bearings lubed.  Safely. 

I used the first on a car that had the clearance for me to reach behind and lock/unlock the axle. the 2nd on one that does not have the clearance.

And then we have the 3rd type of car. Can not be towed 4 down no matter what.

How to find out.. Google Remco Towing follow the Store link enter your car's vital statistics on the left and the answer is on the right.

It is getting a bit tougher to find the STORE page

http://www.remcotowing.com/Towing/Store.php

So There it is.