Fridge barely cooling on AC

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jazz-n-rv

Good afternoon,

This is my first time posting on this forum.  My issue is my trailers refrigerator barely cools on AC.  It only gets the fridge down to 45 degrees after being on for over 24 hours.  How when I turn the fridge to propane it gets down to 33 degrees within a few hours.

My thought is my heating element is going bad.  What I am not sure of is if these are either working or not-working items.  I would like to have a good approach plan so that I do not just throw money at it with parts that are not bad.

From what I understand the issues could be a bad heating element, thermistor, and control board.  The fact that the fridge works great on propane makes me think that the issue is not the thermistor and maybe not the control board.  Thanks for your help.

Well you can start randomly replacing parts and hope to stumble on the one causing the problem or you can hire a mobile mechanic who knows what he is doing.

I'm hoping to avoid randomly replacing parts, but with the price of RV mechanics around here, I will be charged about as much for the repair as just replacing all the parts myself.

How are you measuring the temp? A pocket thermometer in a glass of water or a remote display work best. A regular thermometer will give you a false reading by the time you can focus on it.

I'm using a digital outdoor thermometer and I leave the thermometer on the middle shelf.  This is where I get a reading for both electric and propane.  This allows me to never open the door and just read the temperature by the remote screen.