gfi popped wont reset

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ski man

new to this rving need advice  gfi popped this weekend and would not reset.  Air conditioning was off too.  I checked the breakers and fuses and they were all good.  Came home and thought maybe the gfi was bad.  I hooked the trailer up to my house current and checked,  All is good.  The gfi reset and everything works.  disconnected the extension cord and we are back to no outlets, no gfi and no air.  I have zero electrical experience (don't know how it works ) so I hope there is a simple solution out there.  thanks in advance

Sounds like everything is working as it should. The items you describe as not working when unplugged from house current require the 120V to work. So, once you disconnect from house current you won't have any outlets or air. Or anything else that requires 120V such as a microwave.

I agree.  Based on the description everything seems as it should.

The only thing that should run without shore power are 12v items, such as lights, heat, fridge, exhaust fans, radio, and the like.

Thanks.. I just plugged it in again and everything is working as it should.  The thing that puzzled me was that the first time I disconnected from home circuit the gfi popped again.  This time everything works ok.  The dealer/parts guy yday  said when it happened this weekend I should have disconnected to the 30 amp and reconnected.  We have a surge protector hooked up so I thought that would have stopped an unwanted surge.  As you can see there is a bunch of stuff I need to learn.  Thanks again for your quick response. 

ski man said: