Fiat or Wrangler - Pros and Cons

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChuckB

Ok, I'm completely new to this...

Anyways, I am looking to purchase a MB Sprinter Class C (or at least most are Class C, I think Winnebago has a Class A version) but I need to flat tow something.  Most of the Sprinters I've looked at have 188hp (diesel) and about 300 lb of torque.  I've sort of narrowed it down to either a Fiat 500 (manual as autos aren't towable) and a Jeep Wrangler.  Most of the specs on Sprinter RVs say 5000 lbs is ok, but of course less may be better too.  The Jeep, empty weighs about 3800, the Fiat closer to 2500.  But I think the Wrangler would be more fun.  The Jeep I'm looking at is a two door "soft-top" manual transmission and doesn't have much in the way of options.  So it weighs less than many of the ones out there, although it is still a 1,000 lb (or more) heavier than the Fiat.  I might consider something else too, but I have found a couple of these two used ones that are "reasonably" priced and not located too far away.  The Wrangler is also more expensive. 

Opinions?

To me the Fiat would just be transportation while the Jeep, as you said, would be more fun. There are lots and lots of interesting places the Jeep can take you while the Fiat, not so much.

You can see my vote in my signature. I'd caution that the JK Rubicon may be somewhat heavier than 3, 800. Mine scales at 4, 600 lb (automatic, winch bumper w/winch, 4 in lift and set up to tow). The only reason I see, other than cost, is if your tow limit is 3, 500 rather than 5, 000 lb. Many class C's have that limit.

Ernie

Molaker said:
To me the Fiat would just be transportation while the Jeep, as you said, would be more fun. There are lots and lots of interesting places the Jeep can take you while the Fiat, not so much.

:)) :)) x2