Traveling with large dogs?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Birdakl

We?re off on the maiden voyage with our dogs later this week. We have two large dogs, 60 and 75 pounds and a 29 foot Class C. What do you all do with your dogs? Harness, crates, let them have free reign? Free reign scares me, just as it would having a human wander around while rolling down the road. Thanks in advance!

It is not allowed for dogs to be off leash in an RV park or a campground. Many parks have limits as to the size and the number of pets allowed. It is best to check first before making reservations.

If I understand your question correctly, you are asking what to do with your dog while traveling down the road?
As a former insurance agent I cannot tell you the number of horror stories I have heard while taking claims for auto accidents. Not only dogs that caused accidents by jumping in drivers lap or bumping shoulder etc. but think of it this way...if Fido is not belted in, and your are rear ended...or suddenly have to swerve Fido becomes a 75 lb missile projecting around the cabin of your auto injuring himself, but also any passengers in the vehicle.  I have taken claims where tiny dogs were sitting in the back seat and wound up hitting the windshield when the car was rear ended. Not to mention airbags exploding in their face. Broken facial bones etc. another thought, if Fido is loose in the car and you are injured in an accident Fido will do his best to protect you from strangers...including the paramedics who are there to help you. I always harness my 50 lb Labrador to a seat belt anytime she is traveling with me.