Reliability of tires purchased with new travel trailer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mpolsue1

I've read and seen on YouTube that new tires (those purchased with a new RV) are generally unreliable. Being a rookie, I don't know "First hand" if this is true or not. YOu folks, however, have experience behind you. We just bought ours the end of July and haven't put many miles on it yet. I'd like to spend the money on reliable tires before we go on any notable trips if this is generally true.  We bought a 2018 Rockwood Mini Lite 2509S. It is currently in the shop so I can't run outside and look at the tires.

Thanks for any info and thoughts,

Mark&Sandy

I avoid Chinese tires like the plague.

And I use a tire pressure monitoring system.  Having a blowout on a towable is a pain.  Having a blowout in a motorhome is more of a pain.  Dangerous too.

Well, you haven?t given us much to comment on. I figure your tires are 14? and probably have about 2050# of load capacity. Your trailer being a 2018 model, it may have tires on it that meet the new RVIA load capacity recommendation of having at least 10% load capacity reserves above the certified vehicle GAWRs. You can verify that by reading the trailer?s certification label found on the left forward external section of the trailer. The maximum load capacity of the tires on the trailer should have a load capacity 10% higher than the GAWR rating depicted on the certification label. There should also be a tire/load label at that location.