in tank fuel pump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Deano2002

we are getting ready to take a 1500 mile trip back east and the in tank fuel pump is bothering me. I have no reason to suspect it is near to failing but it could be as old as the coach which is a 1989. The rig has 70K miles which isn't a lot but, the age again makes me wonder. I checked the ac delco one and its less than 70 dollars at one of the chain auto part store, which is reasonable. It looks like an all day job for sure and the filler neck is leaking so, that might be enough reason to drop the tank, I really don't want to. What are you folks experiences with this age and mileage of your coaches? 

I have been driving for over 50 years and have had two failures. Honestly, I think you are worrying needlessly, yes it can happen but the odds are in your favor. As you suggest dropping the tank is not a fun job and is normally not necessary to repair the filler neck.

If it ain't broke don't fix it!! 

For peace of mind you may want to buy the pump and take it with you.

Have you ever pulled a gas tank and replaced a pump?  I think you'd be creating more problems than you'd solve.

Arch Hoagland said:
If it ain't broke don't fix it!! 

For peace of mind you may want to buy the pump and take it with you.

Have you ever pulled a gas tank and replaced a pump?  I think you'd be creating more problems than you'd solve.
yes, I have dropped tanks and replaced pumps in 18 gallon car tanks, not so bad, never a 70 gallon tank. If I did take one with, replacing it on the road would be impossible I believe

Deano2002 said:
the in tank fuel pump is bothering me

What's it doing that bothers you?  Sometimes Most of the time 'starving' issues are fuel filter related??

Deano2002 said: