Fresh Water Tank Continually Drains

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rickdeboard

Hi, I am new to Rving so bear with me.  I have searched your site and did not find a reference to my particular problem, but maybe I missed it.  I overfilled my fresh water tank recently and now it leaks continually out of the overflow pipe under the coach.  So I read that it might be siphoning so I allowed it to drain all the way out and then filled it again.  As soon as I start filling it, it starts draining out and continues draining until it is empty.  Now it has started draining out the low point drain as well, and that drain is in the closed position.
Any ideas would be helpful.  This is a new coach and still under warranty.

Hi Rick, welcome to The RV Forum!

If it's under warranty, your best bet is to take it back to the dealer and let him fix it.  Make sure he shows you what went wrong so you'll be able to deal with it yourself if it happens again.

Lou, thanks for the quick reply, I thought that might be what you would say.  The problem is my dealer, they are a long way off and I have to leave the coach there while they scratch their heads and try to figure out what's wrong.  The service they have given me in the past has been much less than satisfactory.  I would rather fix it myself, (I am kind of a hands on guy), but don't understand what could be going on.  I may try a different dealer than the one where I bought the coach.  Thanks for your help.

Contact the manufacturer and explain your situation with your dealer. They may authorize you to call in a mobile repair guy and they would foot the bill.

A leaky low-point drain is just plain defective, unless it is the type that is a simple threaded cap and has come loose.