propane question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Papadude

Propane question: my keystone cougar 30RLS has 2 tanks, one on each side. the right tank has a red high pressure regulator and then plumbed to the left side into the 2 stage auto changeover regulator. The left tank is plumbed directly into the 2 stage regulator without a high pressure regulator. This doesn't sound right to me. I need your help with how your tanks are plumbed

I'm no propane expert but it doesn't sound right to me either.
I think there should be a high pressure line to the right & left input of the auto change over regulator.

I've never seen a setup with 2 regulators.

Mine has 2. The red one on the passenger side and the auto changeover on the drivers side. The one on the passenger side I'm told I don't even need it. They say it's there in case of a major accident and it's to prevent a huge  flow of propane if the pipe broke. Without that regulator, the propane will shut off anyway because of the safety valve inside the tank. The flow would shut off.

Most people will answer that you cannot regulate propane twice.  That is not correct in all cases.  An RV primary pressure regulator, whether for a single propane bottle of two bottles, and whether manual or auto switch-over, regulates the pressure down to less that 0.5 PSI. That is normally measured with a manometer that measures in inches of water and 11 IW is normal pressure for RVs.  If you put two regulators, regulating at 11 IW, in a row you will get no propane out of the second regulator.