Where is the Vehicle Tow Rating?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Minnesota Dan

Hi All,

I'm just starting out to look to buy my first tow vehicle.  I'm wanting something that can tow 7,000-8,000 lbs.  Will this rating be published somewhere on the vehicle?  Or do I need to do something esoteric like find the GVWR and calculate out what the actual capacity is?

Very honestly, I'm looking at Ram 1500s and Ford F150s.  If I look online, they all seem to have an acceptable tow rating.  But, when I look at the dealer website, I see many of these vehicles only rated at around 4,000 lbs.  I'm wondering if a tow package makes a difference here?  And is this something that can be added at the time of purchase or does the vehicle need to be manufactured with this?

Thanks in advance for any help!

There will be a yellow sticker on the driver side door giving the figure for that particyular unit. Adding a tow package, air bags, bigger tires etc does not change it. A properly configured 1500/F-150 should do what you ask.

You can find most of the information you need to start with in the manufacturer's Towing Guide brochure, available online.  There are a series of nesting weight ratings, starting with the overall package of truck and trailer together, then working its way downward to each vehicle's gross weight (payload), then each axle's weight capacity.

The overall rating is GCWR (Gross Combined Weight Rating) the most the truck and trailer together can weigh.  This isn't on the vehicle weight placard, but it can be found in the Towing Guide.

Next is the GVWR (Gross Vehicle Weight Rating), the most the truck + it's payload can weigh.

Followed by the individual GAWR (Gross Axle Weight Ratings), the most weight each axle can carry.

GCWR is paramount, then you work your way downward ensuring the GVWR and GAWR weights aren't exceeded.