RV extention cords

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sweetfarm

Hi There, I am new to rv ownership and this forum. I recently purchased 2 35 foot travel trailers from craigslist and am hoping to work on them over the winter. They are parked in my yard about 150 feet away. From hat I've learned on the internet this is a pretty controversial topic, but my question is...
Would I be ok if I used the 50 ft cord coming off the trailer, dogboned it down from 30 amps to 15, and ran a 100 ft 10 gauge 15 amp extension cord if I am ONLY going to use a couple of lights? I want to be VERY clear that I have NO intention of running ANYTHING else. No microwaves, heaters, etc...

Thanks! Erica

Yes, just remember the longer the cord the less power you can draw out of it.

Here is a chart that should give you an idea of what side cord you need to reach X number of feet up to 200 feet http://www.diybyexample.info/2010/07/what-size-extension-cord-do-i-need/

One thing to be careful about is the condition of the outlet you are plugging into, many household outdoor outlets are in less than perfect condition, have loose prongs, or corrosion build-up which can cause them to overheat at well below their rated level.    If in doubt it may be a good idea to replace the outlet.

p.s. the chart shows at 150 feet a 10 gauge extension cord is good for 10-12 amps, so roughly 1,100 - 1,200 watts.  For comparison a modern CF or LED light bulb draws under 15 watts,  with an LED it would be well under.  A typical office cube heater draws about 750 watts on low and 1,500 watts on high.