Trim sealant

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

msw3113

I need to re-install about 10 feet of L-shaped metal trim that screws into the sidewall and supports the horizontal sheet metal of the "chin" area of our 5er.  Guy at the local (independent) RV repair facility advised against using Dicor, saying it is reserved for rubber roof applications.  He suggested using butyl tape formed into the crook of the "L," screwing the trim piece in place, scraping off the squeeze-out with a putty knife, and sealing the edge with a bead of Loctite Poly Seam Seal.

To me it sounds like a reasonable belt-and-suspenders method.  I'm just unfamiliar with the sealants and don't want to make an irrevocable mistake.  But I also want to keep the water out.

What say the experienced posters here? 

I'm not an expert, but this is my favorite adhesive / sealant, for most everything.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0044F9KNU/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A37KLPQG0QTZGU&psc=1

But an actual picture of your project might get better advise from the true experts,  :)

The Dicor brand lap sealant comes in a self-leveling form (501LSW) for roofs and a Non-Sag formula (551LSW) for other uses, so the 551 would be the choice for your purpose.  However, I agree that there are better, or at least easier, methods.  I would do as the guy suggests with the butyl tape sealant  and then seal the top edge with any quality caulk, either clear or matching the sidewall color.  The general purpose Polyseamseal is probably fine, but I would choose Geocel Proflex RV, 3M Body Seam-Seal, or the Dicor 551LSW, all of which are tailored for that application.

Gary, I've seen you recommend that 3M body seam sealer before.  I've used a lot of that in the past at my restoration shop, but that was all on body seams or maybe underneath the car when replacing floor pans and such.