Cows

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
The only time I have really been offended by cow smell is when driving by a feedlot. As for being afraid of cows. I am wary of any animal that weighs as much as a cow. Even if they aren?t aggressive if they accidentally step on your foot they could break it. I think it?s great your kids go over to the fence and pet the cows. Kids need these types of experiences. When we lived in England there was a horse pasture across the road. I would occasionally feed them apples.

Great tread. Brings back many fond memories of my summers on my grandfathers farm.  The feel and smells of the barn. Bucking hay bales and storing in the barn. The quiet solitude of just walking the fields, running your hands over the wheat.

As a wildlife photographer I never worried too much about the big animals, it was the little ones that scared me. Honey badgers, porcupines, etc. Same with scuba diving. I never worried about the sharks and barracudas, it was the sea urchins that scared the heck out of me. :eek:

D-n-R said:
You want to CAREFUL around cattle...

I grew up in the city...Kim dragged me out to the country. I love it but I'm still a city boy apparently. I went up to a local farm one day last year for some hay to spread over some new grass seed. The farmer was rounding up some cows and had to go get a stray. He gives me an old ax handle and says "if that one runs, just smack her on the head". She ran. I smacked her. And she proceeded to knock me and the gate down. Nothing hurt but my pride luckily.

Oldgator73 said:
.... Even if they aren?t aggressive if they accidentally step on your foot they could break it. I think it?s great your kids go over to the fence and pet the cows. Kids need these types of experiences. When we lived in England there was a horse pasture across the road. I would occasionally feed them apples....