Main AC won't start

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rene T

Site Team
I noticed a couple of days ago the AC had difficulty started but it did eventually start. Today I went to start it and I could here it sort of clicking a couple of times then it was quiet. I'm able to turn on the fan. I switched it to cool and tried again and the same thing happened. It clicked a couple of times like it wanted to start but then it was quiet.
I've heard may times here on the forum they talk about start capacitors. I'm not a electrician so this will be new to me. It is a Dometic AC and it's 7 years old.
I'm going to go on the roof and remove the shroud. What should I be looking for?

Most of these units are not meant to be serviced. You can grab a meter and check the capacitors (small metal cans usually next to the motor), but other than that, you should call an HVAC tech and ask them. The refrigerant is usually in a sealed system without a valve, so for them to check the pressures, they may need some special tools.

Fixed it.  My neighbor, who's a retired electrician, came over with his meter and did a bunch of checking. It appeared that I wasn't getting any 110 volts to the capacitor. Went into the RV and checked power at the circuit breaker. All was Sat. Checked power at the AC in the junction box and all was Sat. He then said it appears the thermostat wasn't sending a signal to the AC.  BINGO. The light went on. I had forgotten that I had the same issue last year and after me doing some trouble shooting, I also thought it had something to do with the thermostat.