Diagnosing a Bad Inverter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dolce Far Niente

Recently purchased a 1997 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager, and it appears that the inverter is not charging the house batteries while on shore power or gennie, nor powering the TV or anything else while running on the batteries.

The inverter is a Heart Freedom (I think) and its  monitor panel, which is in a front compartment,  only lights up when on shore power, at which time it says everything is hunky dory.  There are 2 breaker buttons on the front of the inverter, neither of which appear to be popped.  None of the breakers in the power center under the bed are popped.

Everything works fine on shore power and on gennie, except that the battery bank is not getting charged.

I'm no electrician, but I can use a meter. If someone can give me an idea of how to diagnose whether this is a dead inverter or another issue, I would sure appreciate the guidance.  My late husband was the tech whiz in the family;  I just held the flashlight, but now I'm flying solo.

Some of the Heart Freedom Combi inverters from that era had an internal glass fuse that is prone to failure in the charging section.  The repair may be as simple as replacing the fuse, I don't recall if they were in a fuse holder or soldered in though.

Probably the easiest check is to push the buttons on the inverter to be sure they are properly engaged.  Then with the meter check the DC output voltage.  it should be about 13.6 volts or more to charge the batteries.  There are probably covers over the DC battery lines so be careful and be sure you actually can check the DC voltage at the inverter. Also check the voltage at the batteries.
Let us know what you find.

Any idea how old the batteries are?
If they are wet cell batteries, have you checked their water level?