Towing late model Mini Countryman

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mfvanderburg

I'm new to RV'ing and trying to find out if its possible to tow a 2016 Mini Countryman 6-speed as a TOAD.  Everything that I've read online references older mini's and the Dinghy Guides that I've seen don't list any Mini's as tow-able.  The owners manual for the Mini is pretty vague - there is a section that describes towing it with a towbar - which seems to suggest that it's possible but I'm hoping that someone out there that has some experience towing a Mini can reassure me.
Thanks, Mark.

Welcome to the Forum!

The best reference is your Owner Manual, under towing or recreational towing.

The easiest reference is Remco Industries.      http://www.remcotowing.com/Towing/Store.php

According to them, a 2016 Countryman FWD  MANUAL TRANSMISSION    is towable 4 down as is.        AWD and automatics are NOT towable except with all 4 tires off the ground, on a trailer.

The issue is the transmission not getting proper fluid flow or cooling in the AWD and Auto Tranny models.

Hope this helps!