City water hook up question. (Newbie here)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CJAG

Do you use your water pump when hooked up to city water? Or does the pressure of the open hose take care of it? If so is there a risk of seals blowing because of pressure? Curious about this since we are leaving on our first long trip in 2 weeks.

Most RVs have a "demand" type of water pump that will only turn on when the pressure in the line connected to the pump falls below some preset level. If you are connected to city water. the pressure in the lines will never fall below that level, and the pump will never turn on.

Joel

Don't forget about a pressure regulator for the city hookup

This a cheap one that will work. But the pressure was to low for us.
https://www.amazon.com/Camco-Pressure-Regulator-High-Pressure-40055/dp/B003BZD08U/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1544112874&sr=8-3&keywords=rv+pressure+regulator

We upgraded to this one
https://www.etrailer.com/RV-Fresh-Water/Valterra/A01-1117VP.html

No. Turn the pump off when connected to city water.  A pressure regulator is only required at parks with high water pressure.  I carry one and have used it a couple times.  I test the water pressure first with my hand or visually.  Usually, with exceptions, the water pressure is normal or low.  Once in a while you find a park high high pressure and I put the regulator then.

Buy a pressure regulator and always leave it attached to your water hose line. We did not and hooked up to a normal park. When I turned the water on, all I could here was my wife yelling "there is water coming out of the wall". High pressure blew apart our waterline in the kitchen, and had to call in a professional to repair it. My best advice again, buy the pressure regulator and use it every time you hook up to city water.

Bill

billwild said: