"Residential Construction" on a Class A Motorhome

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

davethomas69

Hello forum users, I'm new to this chat room and am just starting to research Class A motorhomes with a desire to purchase one in the next 4 years as I and my wife will be retiring then.  I think I want an Entegra Cornerstone, as I want the 600 horse power engine.  I will be towing a car, and will be traveling from Texas all over the country, but especially west going over the Rockies and the Sierras.  I've been told by an RV dealer here in Dallas that only Newmar and Entegra make a residential construction style motorhome that use wood framing like you would for a home, and that allows for insulation and a quieter ride, that also helps heat and cool the coach.  Is this true?

Residential type construction does not lend itself well to rv's, houses are not moving up and down the road and constantly working. Years ago my buddy and I built a canopy for his pickup using wood frame and rock wool insulation. It was way too heavy, too rigid and eventually broke apart. Most modern motorhomes are reasonably well built, some better than others, but don't expect the comfort and durability of a stick and brick house.

They don't use wood - it's all metal framing.  The "residential construction" is what is known as a "hung wall" and is indeed similar to that used in houses, but there is no evidence it is in any way superior to the laminated panels on steel frame walls that others use.  As Roy points out, building like a fixed site house is not necessarily an advantage in a vehicle based mobile house.