Battery not charging on AC power

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

J.tucker84

Hey, sorry I'm new to campers. I've searched the forum and can't quite find a matching issue. My parents bought a Palamino tow behind camper and set it up at our place to visit but the battery keeps going dead from a full charge, even though it's plugged into AC from my house,within a few hours of running the furnace. I checked the fuses and panel that's under the sink area and there's power there. I pulled the battery and charged it, and checked the terminals from the camper and there is no power coming back to the battery. When they plug it into their running truck the 12V system powers right up. With the AC plugged in only the outlets seem to work and everything else seems to go off of the 12V battery. I'm hoping it's something simple I just overlooked and not a bad inverter/converter or something. I did see in an article among my searches that there may be a brake away box that should be unplugged when the camper is parked? Where should I be checking for that and what am I looking for?

Ok, here is the battery charge path

Assuming this is a trailer (if ti's a motor home)

House outlet {1} cord to (optional inlet and then automatic transfer switch) To power distrubition panel {also called breaker panel or box} {2} and from there a branch breaker {2} to the converter {3} to fuses or breakers or both {4} to the battery.

1: If the outlet is a GFCI (it should be) that has tripped or the breaker is tripped no power.. (To test make sure something 120 volt like the TV works).