What are the recommended tools for testing electricity?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thelazyl

I am an RV newbie and very much a novice when it comes to electrical systems.  I am building my RV toolkit and would like to know which kind of "electricity tester" do you recommend?  I can envision one to cover the system of fuses, wires, and appliances for 12v and then the same for 110.  I have not yet searched through YouTube to learn HOW to use the tester thing. 

I have a 2003 Fleetwood DP.

Thanks in advance for your tips.  This site is great for helping a new guy learn.

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Fluke-Digital-600-Volt-Multimeter/999970838

This is the one that I use...Maybe a bit overkill but it's a solid piece of equipment.

2 wet fingers... ;D

Actually, I agree with a good digital meter. As Gizmo100 posted, Fluke is a good meter, but an overkill if you have to ask what is needed. I say this because the Fluke has many more features and offers much better accuracy than a novice is likely to take advantage of. I recommend buying a DVM in the $20-$30 range plus something like this to make 120 volt testing a little easier. Better yet, this would be a great starter kit.

I admire the recommendations given but seriously all you will probably need is the freeby that harbor Freight has.  It is a basic volt, ohm meter that measures Ac and DC volts and resistance.  All you should ever need in the RV world.  The accuracy of the other meters is great but you don't need it.

I'm a retired Electrical engineer and it is what I carried in the MH for general use.  I am also a Ham radio nut so had the more accurate meters for that hobby but never or seldom ever used one the "good" ones for RV work. 
Just my thoughts on the subject,