New EMS shows Open Ground ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chakara

Hey guys - was hoping some of you could check my sanity.  Here at the house I have a 30A RV hookup next to the trailer.  I plug the trailer in via an 30/50 amp adapter.

I  just completed the install of the EMS-HW50C 50 amp hard wired system.  I plug in the rig and low and behold, the EMS show EC#2 - Open Ground.

Yikes!  How long have I had that problem? 

I did a bit of reading and busted out the old Fluke.  Here is what I get

Pedestal no load:

Hot to Ground:      123V
Hot to Neutral:        123V
Neutral to Ground:  0V

Input to EMS - no load:

L1 to Ground:        123V
L2 to Ground:        123V
L1 to Neutral:          123V
L2 to Neutral:          123V
Neutral to Ground:  0V

I'm not an electrician, but this all seems normal.  This is where I got a little brave (foolish?? :) ) and flipped the bypass switch on the EMS.  Trailer lights up and everything works.  I put a little heater as a load and the only different measurement with a load on is:

Neutral to Ground:    1.3V

Again, I think that when you have a load you should read some voltage on that link so it still feels normal?

Before I call Progressive Ind. for an RMA - - can anyone who knows more about electricity confirm my finding?  Or am I stupid and my trailer is going to burst into flames :)

Thanks all!

-Kyle
​​​​​​​

Of course it all works with an open ground.  You don't need a ground wire to make the system functional - it's there to protect your life in case of a short in a hot or neutral.