Battery

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

golfenic

I have an 84 Coachmen class c Ford both the deep cycle and the staring battery need replacing what is the best bang for the buck . I am a disabled vet on a tight budget and don't want to spend money foolishly

Welcome to The RV Forum!

Walmart has the "best bang for the buck" in batteries.  Their Value Start batteries cost $49 and come with a 1 year warranty.  Or $69 for a battery with a 3 year warranty, $89 for a battery with a 5 year warranty.  All of their prices are the same regardless of the battery's physical size so get the largest one that will fit in your battery tray.

The CCA difference between the Value Start and their top of the line batttery in any given size is about 10-15%.  The Value Start battery I bought for my car has exceeded it's warranty and continues to do just fine.

If you only have room for one house battery Walmart's marine/deep cycle does OK at a good price.  If you have room for two house batteries a pair of 6 volt GC2 golf cart batteries for $89 each at Sams Club or Costco are also good choices.

There's "value" and there's "cost", so knowing what you expect of these batteries could save you from replacing a set that can't deliver what you need.  If your requirements fit within the capabilities of the wally world units, then check the box.  Otherwise seek out and choose from the suppliers that can fulfill your requirements.  Buy once, cry once.

Mark B.
Albuquerque NM